Feb 5, 2010-Painting A Day Project

Today’s painting I decided to do something a little different.  Something very loose and unlike my normal subject matter.  I love to see new places and one of my favorite places are the mountains.  I love breathing in the mountain air, the quiet peacefullness, and the feeling of being in a remote area, even if it isn’t very remote.  It is amazing how they can clear my mind and instantly relax me.  There is so much beauty in nature, you just have to be there there to see and experience it…..even if that involved getting up very, very early, or staying up very, very late. 

This painting is of something they call alpenglow.  It is when some of the peaks are illuminated while the rest of the area is still in shadow.  It is absolutely beautiful.  I hope you can get a tiny sense of that for this little 6″x6″ piece of canvas.

Alpenglow

Alpenglow

Leave a Reply

