Feb 11, 2010 – Painting A Day Project

I decided to stray a bit from my western/equine themed paintings and refer to some material I collected at a historic camp re-enactment.  I will be the first to admit I’m not a huge history buff but I do enjoy this type of thing.  I love to see the camp setups, watch the demonstrations, and see how elaborate some of the costumes get.  This guy was a fur trapper participating in a muzzle loader shooting competition. 

What can I say, I was fascinated by the guy’s hat….the fur and turkey feather, it just struck me as cool….

Fur Trader's Hat

Fur Trader's Hat

Leave a Reply

