Feb 25, 2010 – Painting A Day Project

Hoss

Hoss

Hoss.  The dog with many nicknames.

This little guy is supposed to be half beagle and half jack russell….well…..I’ll let you be the judge of that.  He’s about the size of a typical beagle but is black with white markings, and in those white markings, he has little black spots.  He has very, very soft hair and a long tail with long white hairs on the end of it….hence my dad’s nickname for him….long-tail.  Sometimes, that tail is all you can see of him when he’s nosing around the hay-field.  When we got him as a pup, he was supposed to be my daughter’s dog…or so I told her dad….yes, I’ll admit it, my daughter was just a pawn to talk her dad into the dog because I instantly fell in love with him.  He has the sweetest, lovable personality.  He’s so laid back and friendly….always greeting you with those chocolate eyes and that tail waggin so hard it wiggles his butt.  That’s why I nicknamed him “wiggle butt”.  He’s quite the companion…he’s even rode in my doctor’s buggy with me in the parade here in town when he was just a month or so old.  Everyone was paying more attention to him than they were the horse and buggy.

The fall after we’d gotten him, my kids were in a bad car wreck, that left my son with a fractured vertebrae and in a halo for 3 months.  During that time, my son and Hoss really bonded.  It was almost as if Hoss knew my son was hurt and made it his mission to see him through the healing process.  Ever since then, Hoss is more my son’s dog than anyone’s.  If my son is anywhere around and calls for him, it doesn’t matter if you’re even in the process of giving him treats….he’s going to go to my son.  My son even has his own nickname for him, “Alouisious”….pronounced “Al-oo-ish-us”.  ‘have no idea where he came up with that but, it seems Hoss doesn’t mind.  He’s just content, sitting or laying by my son, wandering around the fields, or riding in the truck with him.  I have to say, I’m jealous….afterall, he was supposed to be mi…er, I mean, my daughter’s dog.  I will say this, he does still humor me and let’s me hug on him (as long as my son is not in sight).  He has also taught me a couple of lessons…..

What did I learn?  Animals really can help heal humans– mind, body, and soul……and lastly, don’t try to use the kids as a pawn to get what you want….the plan always back-fires!  🙂

2 Responses to “Feb 25, 2010 – Painting A Day Project”

  1. mary Says:

    They are all great, but than I’ve always been a fan of your work.

Leave a Reply

