Austin-value study-Day 2

 

Austin

Day 2 of my painting a day project

To view this painting in my daily paintworks gallery, click here:  http://www.dailypaintworks.com/fineart/veronica-brown/austin/330023

Day 2 of the painting a day challenge for the month of February.

I decided to go with another value study. I did use a third color on this one….besides the burnt sienna and burnt umber, I used a tad bit of dirty white (“dirty” because it had a little bit of yellow pre-mixed into it) mixed in the burnt sienna, just because I wanted to add to the “dust effect”. This subject is very dear to my heart–this guy was my big, lovable furball, my “bubba”, my “buckwheat”…..I had several “pet names” for him….and most of the time, they were very endearing.  He rarely ever heard himself referred to as “knucklehead” or “pain in the arse”….ha ha, like others in our herd.  He was a horse with such a large but loving personality.  He liked to pick things up in his mouth and walk off with them, he liked to lick your hands, arms, etc. like a dog, and he loved to just follow you around and just “hang out”.  I trusted him entirely.  I’ve let more than one horse-crazy girl come and handle/brush him and then experience their first horseback ride on him.  I put two of my nieces on him to ride double, back from a dinner at our church and didn’t worry about them going down the road by themselves when my ride decided to throw a lil fit because he was scared of a cart being pulled by a pony.   I knew “bubba” would take care of the girls.  He truly loved being with his humans.

He was part Morgan and really carried himself as such.  He was a handsome guy and knew it most days.  This particular scene was of him “showing off” for me one day because he was jealous of me working with one of my other horses.  So, being the artist and photographer that I am, I immediately dropped everything and went to photograph his antics.  Yep, he knew how to turn the attention back on him.  Gosh, I truly miss this guy….the herd isn’t the same without him.

“Life is too short, so, ride your best horse first”.

 

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Austin-value study-Day 2”

  1. McCallister Sculpture Says:

    This took a day? That’s fantastic- you’ve gained a follower. And I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work through this challenge!

Leave a Reply

