Long Ears–Day 22

 

Day 22

5″x7″ oil on canvas panel

I am finally caught up with my posts….for now.  The last week of my challenge started today….6 days to go.  I will say that there have been a couple of days that it was tough to get a painting done but I have thoroughly enjoyed the process.  Washing a canvas of a single color and then going back and “carving” out my subject, it’s almost magical–I know, sounds corny, but it was to me.  Sometimes I surprised myself as my subject just appeared with a couple of swipes of the brush.  Other times, I literally wiped the canvas off and started over more than once.  Being the stubborn mind that I am at times, I was determined to wipe the canvas off as many times as it took to get something I was sorta pleased with for the day.  I mean, if I have to paint and repaint multiple times, I am learning each time.  Whether it be drawing, getting values right, or just getting the composition right.  It’s all good!

Creativity itself doesn’t care at all about results – the only thing it craves is the process. Learn to love the process and let whatever happens next happen, without fussing too much about it. Work like a monk, or a mule, or some other representative metaphor for diligence. Love the work. Destiny will do what it wants with you, regardless. ~Elizabeth Gilbert, author “Eat, Pray, Love”  (one of my favorite books!)

Here’s the link to this painting in the Daily Paintworks Gallery.  Thanks for looking.  http://www.dailypaintworks.com/fineart/veronica-brown/long-ears/335377

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

