Jake-Day 23

7"x5" oil on canvas panel

7″x5″ oil on canvas panel

I was having a bit of trouble deciding what to paint for day 23.  Sometimes the ideas are just there and then other times I have to have a “jumpstart”.  There are various ways I try to jumpstart the ideas; looking through reference material, flipping througha magazine or art book, taking a walk outside, etc.  This particular evening, I happened to be chatting back and forth with my daughter while I was sitting at my painting table, flipping through my reference photos.  I was telling her what I was doing and that I was having a bit of trouble deciding what to paint today….she came back with, “a horse!”….then almost immediately after, she came back with, “no, a turkey!”.  Um, OK…..a turkey seemed a bit random for her to come back with so, I questioned her about what made her think of a turkey.  She came back with, “I don’t know, I just always liked your small turkey paintings.”  So, there ya have it, today’s painting, a turkey value study.

I must say, it was fun painting feathers in this way and trying to get the value range right to give a feel of those dark feathers that really do have a lot of color depending on the light.  I already see some things I would do a bit differently but it was a great learning exercise, so, this subject may be worth exploring again in one of these little value studies.

Here’s the link for this painting on the Daily Paintworks Gallery, thanks for looking.  http://www.dailypaintworks.com/fineart/veronica-brown/jake/335994

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

