Bull elk–Day 28

 

Day 28

5″x7″ oil on canvas panel

Being creative is not a hobby, it’s a way of life”

Day 28–The final day of my painting a day challenge for the month of February!  Finished-whew!  In some ways, it’s been a long month, in others, the time has flown by.  I started this project with the intention of just doing small paintings each day (all are 5″x7″).  The first week, I started with doing value studies and had so much fun with that and finding out what a learning tool this was becoming, I decided to stick with that.  So, the full 28 days- I focused on drawing and values.  Something I can always use more practice with.  I also decided to keep with the western/wildlife themes–just because that’s what was inspiring to me at the moment and because I have a lot of reference material that I haven’t had a chance to use yet.

With the exception of just two paintings, all paintings were completed with either burnt sienna (sepia color) or burnt umber (deep brown) or a bit of both.  There were two paintings that I used a bit of “dirty white” on.  For the mono-colored value studies, to get the darks, I just laid in thicker paint, to get the extreme lights, I just used solvent and a bristle brush to wipe off some of the paint.  It was interesting to push paint around on the canvas and be able to form detail/line by moving the pigment itself into a line and then leaving the bare canvas to give form/shape.  I can’t express how much fun some of these little paintings became.  So much so, that I plan to do a few larger value studies….so, stay tuned on that.

With this project, I also decided to start a monthly membership with Daily Paintworks as a way to get these little value studies out to a bigger audience.  I was not focused on selling these studies but, hey, if I can sell a few to help pay for supplies it becomes even more of a win/win.  I am humbled to say, as of this post, I’ve shipped paintings to three different states.  I think I will continue with the DPW for another month and see how that goes.  By the way, if you’re interested, you can view my whole project on the DPW website at this link:  http://www.dailypaintworks.com/artists/veronica-brown-5531/artwork  I have to admit, I definitely feel a sense of accomplishment at viewing this gallery and seeing the 28 paintings in a row–some with red dots!  Woo hoo!  Looking back at the project, I think I definitely accomplished what I set out to do.  I gained brush mileage, I learned a lot about values and am improving my drawing skills, I learned the benefit of washing the canvas with a color and then carving out my subject, I’ve met some new fans of my work, I’ve added a few new states to my “collector locations list”, and I’ve fueled the fire for more creativity with ideas for larger paintings.

As for a bit about the final painting, well, it started out as three different paintings.  By this, I mean, I started three other paintings and wiped each one of them off.  When I stop and think about it, I guess I could say it was technically four paintings because I was re-using a canvas that I had done a quick little plein air study on over my lunch hour at the state park.  I wasn’t thrilled with the study, so, I didn’t think twice about wiping it off.  I did learn a bit about snow and color and describing snow as a form on top of a rock so, it was a beneficial exercise that had run it’s course–no need to keep the painting.  As I was working on the final painting, I was getting a bit frustrated so, I finally just put a little turp on a paper towel and started wiping out shapes…loose shapes with no real form in mind.  One of them reminded me of part of the body of an elk…so, after some more push/pull of paint and wiping out of paint, the final result is this guy…. Sometimes you just have to let the paint and canvas tell you what to paint!

Thanks for following along with my challenge.  I will try to continue to post new works and ramblings but it probably won’t be as frequent as the daily challenges. If you haven’t already, please subscribe to my blog so you’ll get updates as I post them–or, you can just check back whenever you feel so inclined, whatever suits your fancy!

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

