Painting a day 2016-Day 4

Day4.jpgDay 4, I decided to stick with my Rocky Mountain elk theme and do another study.  This is the second time I’ve painted from this reference photo which was taken during our camping trip a few years ago.  I’ve painted this guy in a value study on a larger canvas–but I felt I just didn’t quite have what I was looking for yet.  So, this time, I decided to try it in a smaller, color study, working more on trying to capture that look….you barely see his eye and see that his mouth is open during a bugle.  It is a different perspective –looking from almost behind the elk.  Something about this view has had me drawn to it.  Maybe it’s because it is different.  The photo wasn’t anything spectacular but there was something about the glint in his eye and the difference in view, I knew I would have to paint it one day…with that said…..I still have a few bugs to work out, composition and form wise. ….so, here’s to more practice!

http://www.dailypaintworks.com/fineart/veronica-brown/bull-elk-study-day-4/463958

Leave a Reply

